Home > PRESS > MICHAEL MEDVED APPEARANCE TODAY

MICHAEL MEDVED APPEARANCE TODAY

November 28, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

What a wonderful host, and I can not tell you how refreshing it was to do a show where the interviewer has not only taken the time to screen the film (these guys are sooo busy, and 90 minutes is a lot to ask of their time) but to have committed so much of the details of the film into a wonderful Q&A session made my heart smile. And while we may not see eye to eye on every causative factor behind the premises put forth in the film, I told him on air “he gets me” and a crazy as I may be for taking on these issues, with the support of national media like Mr. Medved, I get truly inspired to keep advancing the message…Thank You Michael!

Categories: PRESS
  1. Chris B.
    November 29, 2007 at 1:11 am

    Janks,

    Heard you on the Medved show. Tried some of the questions on my wife and she fell for the stereotypes too. Amazing when you hear something often enough it becomes the truth. Looking forward to seeing the film. Wish you all the best for success with the DVD.

  2. Fred
    November 29, 2007 at 1:47 am

    We as Americans all need to see this . It has gone on to long about all the bad news we all here about the black man . and we sometimes take it to heart I know I have how can I not help it .
    Kids that are told not to act white . Talk like the street (ghetto)
    Dress like the street . Listen to rap that degrades authority , women and each other .Please let this message be heard by all of us.

  3. Alex L.
    November 29, 2007 at 8:38 am

    I heard your interview today on Michael Medved radio show today. It was great! I only caught a portion of it because I had to return to work so I missed some of it. One part that caught my attention was the statistic that 81% of black kids lived with both parents until 1961. The other was that during the the sixties to the early seventies the order of God first, family, then self last was pushed aside for the current memtality of the “me” generation. We need to get away from the toxic messages began in the sixties and not be afraid of taking care of our families, academic achievement ( I am working on my doctorate in theology currently and I am from the hood back in Detroit! i have witnessed a lot of foolishness). I thank God for your intelligent, articulate voice to spread these
    messages.

    Alex L., 39
    Seattle,WA

  4. Sean, Atlanta GA
    November 29, 2007 at 6:18 pm

    I too heard your interview on the Michael Medved show yesterday – it was great, and important. I bought the DVD immediately. Keep up the good work.

  5. Dave F.
    November 29, 2007 at 6:36 pm

    I heard you on the Medved show and was very impresed. It really bugs me when people believe stuff based on hearsay and stereotype. I make it a point to check the facts myself. I am a white 26 year old male in Northern CA and am just tired of all the mis-information. I plan on buying your DVD so that I can continue to get all the info.
    My personal belief is that untill we stop distiguishing race we will have racism.

    Dave F. 26
    Sacramento, CA

  6. Al
    November 29, 2007 at 11:04 pm

    Any chance the video will be carried by Netflicks?

  7. Charlene
    November 29, 2007 at 11:45 pm

    I was only able to listen to a portion of the show but I was so impressed with Janx Morton…keep getting the word out. I also want to make the observation that it is not only the black man that is “put down” in TV shows, commercials, etc…men in general are ridiculed, made to look stupid…look at the sitcoms, movies, etc….the man is not only put down but the women is made to be superior, know it all, can do it all, etc….when we realize that we need each other, men & women and that TOGETHER we make a team that is balanced & healthy we will continue to deteriorate as a society.

  8. November 30, 2007 at 10:36 am

    I enjoyed hearing you on the MM show. Thanks for your work. You made some points on the show that I don’t think I will ever forget. I’m going to check out the film.
    God Bless

    I run a blog about home schooling. The statistics on minority home schooling are VERY encouraging. Better education, safety, and character building among others.

  9. John C
    November 30, 2007 at 6:57 pm

    I heard the ten-minute interview snippet with you on the Michael Medved Show this afternoon (accessible on http://www.townhall.com). I will look for a DVD of your film soon and am curious to learn of your perspectives.

    As a 46-year-old white male growing up in the St. Louis area (and in integrated schools and an integrated church during my formative years), I’ve thought about these issues A LOT over my lifetime. I’m sure there’s much we could talk about!

    Good luck – and God Bless – with your project!

    John

  10. jummy
    December 1, 2007 at 2:24 am

    i caught the podcast of the mm show and found out about your film. i haven’t looked aound the site yet to see what kind of distro you have for it, but i will see this film.

    you said above that medved may not agree with all the causal linkages you make, but i’m not sure if that isn’t just a case for the need for conservatives to take these issues seriously enough to make those connections. in fact it clearly is. for instance, there are multiple layers of severe cultural distortion which underlie the economic reality of white kids over-valuing and monetarily perpetuating the “50 cent” archtype. the socially constructive man has been deconstructed, dismembered and discarded throughout the west.

    yet medved began with an example of another conservative, pat buchannan, citing the same distorted view of the state of the black man in america seemingly required of all “socially responsible” reviewers of society. endorsing and asserting this mangled image of the black male seems to be an apolitical phenomenon which pervades everywhere, with no one ever actually seeing him.

    i hope your film does well.

  11. Skeptical
    December 3, 2007 at 3:04 am

    I also heard the Medved interview…caught my attention.

    On the other hand…
    the trailer for this movie ONLY states that none of the sterotypes are true.

    Yet, every documentary on prisons in America show a large proportion of jails as being populated by black men.

    When you turn on MTV and see nothing but gangsters in every video…
    it’s not far fetched to think that these people are getting themselves into trouble.

    For that matter, there’s another enormous Hip-Hop movement (similar to the “Dirty South” ideals) brewing right now in the Bay area…it’s called “Hyphy”, and it promotes nothing but “Getting Dumb”…this literally equates to excessive alcohol and drug abuse, then acting as delinquent as possible, on purpose. Worse still, a large part of the fad is to drive your car in the most reckless ways you can find…the more reckless you are, the more revered you become in “the scene”.

    Anyway, I’m not being critical of this particular film…I haven’t had a chance to see it yet…but the trailer on this website instantly sparked my skepticism.

    If you’re following current American politics at all, you’ll have heard that “stats” are a farce…they can be re-iterated in a variety of ways to make them say whatever you want them too.

    So when I hear someone touting “stats”…
    and then I compare that to the endless stories of gang violence, the constant proliferation of negative hip hop videos, new and burgeoning black music scenes that are taking the worst attitudes of the old music and re-inventing it to be the sole purpose and most celebrated aspect of the new, documentary footage of prisons overpopulated by black males…and of course, let’s not forget the juiced-up cars (on every city street) with 22” Dub spinners, purple paint job and booming stereo with LCD screens in each seat, that’s worth more than half a years salary for me.

    And it doesn’t take a comparison of questionable statistics to see that some of the sterotype IS true.

    I hope this movie does more than the evening news…
    they tell us politicians aren’t liars, but we all know that ain’t true just because they flash some numbers on the screen.

  12. nf
    December 3, 2007 at 2:14 pm

    i saw this film yesterday at a screening in london. wow! no, this ‘wow’ isn’t because the film is particularly relevatory or half as good as the director thinks it is. i saw it with several friends and we found it to be full of mixed messages, poorly thought out crituques, ineffectual in offering solutions, full of propaganda and overall a misrepresentation of critical filmmaking.

    it is obvious that the filmaker has an agenda and it’s really a shame that more people will not be able to see this beyond the hype (most of which is proffered by the unbelievably arrogant director). i found it disconcerting that he has chosen to blame the 60s for the deterioration of black culture (hello, black america does not live in cultural isolation, and for that matter, neither does white america. how about examining overall societal trends? novel idea! ). the covert (i am being generous) anti-homophobia, anti-abortion, anti-lone parentage messages i found to be startling! i am all for a better society, but stifling difference isn’t the way forward (it didn’t do hitler any favours). and i find it extremely obtuse to compare marriage rates during slavery to present rates without asking why (and this is just one expample of the poorly thought out linkages the film set out to establish). also, i found a lot of what the director presented as ‘fact’ is not questioned. just as he tells the viewer to be critical of what the government presents to us, shouldn’t we hold his ‘factual’ information to the same measure?

    while they subject matter is fascinating, i actually wanted to hear what black men thought (btw, all types of black men not just ones in suits and ties sat behind desks) it is a shame that the film can offer nothing new to the subject and circulated even more sterotypes about blackness that as a black person i found to be highly constraining and destructive.

    my suggestion is that all of you who are hailing this film to be the answer to socio-political commentary on the state of black america, think again and think for yourselves!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment