Home > COMMUNITY COMMUNICATION > My Man! Steve Perry is stealing the show!

My Man! Steve Perry is stealing the show!

So I know it’s been a minute since I’ve posted, new film (www.MenToBoys.com) has taken 95% of my attentions, however I had an intriguiinbg phone call from a film critic today arounf the upcoming CNN Black in America: 2. quote “Steve Perry is the superstar of this installment. and isn’t he your boy?”….yeppers. WTG Steve, and now I’m interested in seeing how this thing comes together (this time).

 

Steve

  1. Third Eye
    July 10, 2009 at 5:58 am

    Man, that CNN special is bullshit. It is nowhere near an accurate depiction of what goes in in the black community. I understand why that is, you gotta shuck and jive and give the white man the kind of image he wants, but if anyone that is black believes it’s accurate, you’re an idiot. I watched the first installment last year, won’t be watching this one.

  2. Mr. D. Brown
    July 22, 2009 at 10:56 am

    I am a Pre-k Teacher I also teach music to 10-12 year olds trying to build a drum corp to represent New York. When I was in school the history that was tought was all white.
    They never told us about the slaves that was with them. I don’t like the curriculum these school continue to keep black kids in the dark. Black children need a new kind of school made. what do I mean? The inside is made like Society. Real everything. A court room for them to learn the Law, A room set up for them to learn about the stocks poor black kids no nothing about stocks, but they talk about clothes all the time they need to know about money and how it started. How’s about that for math. That’s just some of the many classes black kids really need. I’m from Harlem New York I talk about these things everyday.

  3. Mr. D. Brown
    July 22, 2009 at 11:46 am

    When I was growing up Black community’s had all kinds of recreation centers for children to go to. I was one of the luck ones. I was never on the streets because I always had some where to go and something to learn. either it was Cadets, Karate, Drum Corp, Swimming or Basketball. When you take the funding from communities you put the kids on the streets. Now they are boored, no where to go and nothing to do. Homework is done now what? The only thing left is Loitering infront of where they live. fighting starts, they are poor so they also need money. So they turn to there local Drug dealer who suplies them with a way to make money. There live’s are never the same after. Black kids love to be in Competition it give them a since of pride and respect.

  4. G
    July 22, 2009 at 11:57 pm

    As soon as I saw him, I remembered the connection. I’m gonna pick up his book to read over break (i.e., before Fall semester starts).

  5. Steve
    July 23, 2009 at 10:16 am

    Black in america, means many things. To some it means growing up in a city, to others a rural area and to others a suburb. Black in america is similar to everyone else in america, in that we all go through different things. I grew up in Detroit, graduated from a large high school, went to a small public college and now, I attend an Ivy league graduate school. This series accurately depicts black in america for some, but it could never cover ‘all’ because we all live and experience very different situations.

    I commend CNN for the attempt though.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

