Home > COMMUNITY COMMUNICATION > EMAIL OF THE DAY

EMAIL OF THE DAY

August 17, 2007

I read an article today about your new movie.  I am so happy that you had the braveness to take on an issue that is so sublimated yet corrosive to today’s society.  As a white man, I recognize the stabs at modern manhood.  Cartoons, movies and commercials make us out to be stooges.  I’m sure that there is an extra layer of frustration placed on my black friends from a society that has yet to outgrow the vestiges of the Jim Crow era.  I sincerely hope that the movie does forge a movement.  As that movement progresses, I believe that you will find many white friends such as myself who are so exhausted and angered by the fact that our black brothers have it so unnecessarily tough.  Please consider me an ally.  I will pray for you and also pray that your movie strikes the core of America and gets the attention that it deserves

