Home > COMMUNITY COMMUNICATION, THINKING OUT LOUD > EMAIL OF THE (C-SPAN) DAY

EMAIL OF THE (C-SPAN) DAY

August 21, 2007

I was almost asleep when I heard the introduction to the film, ”What Black Men Think”.  I got up, wrote down Janks Morton, Jr.’s name and the title of the DVD, so I would have it so that I could order it today.  I watched the rest of the show. I went to sleep feeling good, knowing this eloquent speaking, fine, confident black man, in the most humblest of means, called to order,

1st the attention of Black Society to look at our self esteem as a whole, and

2nd  for other races to stop believing the hype about media fed, negative images of the Black race. 

I grew up in Memphis and knew of only 3 men in my family who have went back and forth to jail, and finally decided to stay. Only 3 males, out of over more than one hundred men in my family.  We include them in our prayers and each family member has their own relationship with them.  With that atmosphere, and our family pride, we promoted education, betterment, and family.  Jail was something that never enter our equation until the repercussions of 1980’s CRACK epidemic.  Each incarcerated family member smoked, dealt or manufactured the drug, got caught up, and were prosecuted to the full power of the law. 

Our children of the 1990’s have gone into the military, trade school, college or work force.  Gangs are not an option.  Not finishing school is not an option.  Two parents in the household are expected.  A 12th grade education is not the end of our educational ladder; this is embedded in our children from birth.  Family, structure, and strength of the family is and will continue to be fundamental aspects of what we continue to build in our lives.  We expect excellence and we receive it.  Hard work and family was what we were taught to teach our children.  The Lord led us everyday and will lead our children.  We are a proud people and I wish that America knew more Black families like ours.

Pamela M. Brown

