Home > STAT 101 > SO I MADE A SILLY BET

SO I MADE A SILLY BET

This weekend (and it wasn’t on the fight)…I was talking with one of my more informed friends and the crisis of young black males dropping out of high school at a rate of 50% got dropped like bombshell. And in my typical way I called BS, unfortunately I had a tough time correlating the graduation rates with dropout rates, so woke up this morning doing a little homework. And I’m really calling BS. Look at the following and somebody please find for me a 50% dropout rate. More importantly, again, see how closely data with black boys parallels that of black girls. So I guess Black Girls are dropping out at 50% as well? I got one dollar for the first person who shows me substantatively backed with data that black boys are dropping out of high school at this mythical 50% rate (CLICK SHEET BELOW TO ENLARGE)

dropout.jpg

Categories: STAT 101
  1. December 12, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Hi Janks,
    The chart you linked to is a chart for enrollment (and highest grade completed). For the reasons I noted in my blog (link is Below), dropout and graduation rates can not accurately be determined from that chart alone. Adjustments need to be made. I’d recommend taking a look at the two reports by Greene and Mishel referenced in this post and/or the audio file of their debate. These resources also speak to the pros and cons of the different datasets researchers use that could help with some of the information you are looking for. I don’t know if it will help with the bet you made since there is pretty strong evidence on both sides.

    http://thecheckup.wordpress.com/2007/12/12/tech-check-high-school-graduation-rate/

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

