Home > COMMUNITY COMMUNICATION > MY DADDY’S PHONE NUMBER IS…

MY DADDY’S PHONE NUMBER IS…

December 20, 2007 Leave a comment Go to comments

So I was at an Enough is Enough Rally a couple of weeks ago, and of course the whole tip drill denigration thing comes up as usual. nelly.jpg

So a member of the audience pulls me aside and puts me on high alert…Now the reason this one is so near to me, just a few days prior I was walking into the day care to pick up my 9 year old daughter, and all the kids were uni-dancing to this song “supaman or something”…being over 40 I was caught a little off guard cause I wasn’t aware my day care fees included dance lessons as well. So of course in daddy like fashion, I gave my daughter the ole reliable “if everybody was jumping off a bridge, you gonna jump too” lecture and thought I was done with it. THAT IS  UNTIL this young brother explained to me what it means to supaman dat hoe?

superman.jpg

(missed that lyric as well). Black People, I mean really, Black People, how have we come so late and lonely to this place. This kind of ignorance has just launched us to levels so low and so unimaginable by people who struggled and died to have our culture represented by this. Lord help us all…I think I’m a little late on this one, but explained to my daughter, the next time that anyone you know plays that song, we leave the room, and if any authority figure asks why we say “because my daddy said it denigrates black women, black men, and black people, and to call him if there is a problem“…thinking I need to have a conversation with that day care center as well…

  1. December 20, 2007 at 6:34 pm

    Well said!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

