Home > COMMUNITY COMMUNICATION > from the rumor mill

from the rumor mill

So I’m on the verge of a rant. I get this email that makes me pause,

 Telemarketer

REMINDER….9 days from today, all cell phone numbers are being
released
to telemarketing companies and you will start to receive sale calls.

AND YES…..YOU WILL BE CHARGED FOR THESE CALLS

To prevent this, call the following number from your cell phone:

888-382-1222

It is the National DO NOT CALL list. It will only take a minute of
your
time. It blocks your number for five (5) years. You must call from
the
cell phone number you want to have blocked. You cannot call from a
different phone number. It takes about 20 seconds

HELP OTHERS BY PASSING THIS ON TO ALL YOUR FRIENDS.

You can check out the number at the FTC WWW site below…..

http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/pubs/consumer/alerts/alt107.shtm

So after reading I say darn it (I’m being polite for web purposes), I got to set up my cell phone to keep these guys from ringing me up and saying “Hi, can I speak with the owner of this cell phone ~ is that a rhetorical question?)…Then the cynic kicks in, and I start to smell BS. See I believe that there is this person somewhere out in cyberspace, who derives pleasure and is absolutely contented, by keeping some foolishness started in the black community. The same person who started the Willie Lynch (lie), the Voting Rights Act Repeal (lie), The Denzel Washington buys a whole hospital in South Carolina (lie).

 What I do appreciate is this persons new approach is they no longer close the spam-o-gram emails with “forward this to 7 of your nearest and dearest friends, or you will have seven years bad luck, and your pet will die a horrible death”

Now it’s hidden under the guise of “help another one of you fellow (suckers) out by passing this along”.

Well I’ll close by giving you the official link to the FTC real post regarding the release of cell phone numbers to telemarketers (or the lack thereof)..God, and I almost got duped by the cyber-spammer-spawner person.

 FTC Press Release Here

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

