Home > COMMUNITY COMMUNICATION > it’s because I’m whiter than you?

it’s because I’m whiter than you?

Please read the very well thought out response to the Black in America segment on Dr. Dyson and his Brother. (here)

Author and Professor Michael Eric Dyson

Dyson’s theory of random fate

I am referring to Michael Eric Dyson’s piece on CNN.com where he talks about the life choices made between he and his brother (who is currently serving life in prison).

Two Brothers, Two Paths: Shades of Race

Dyson makes the following comment–

Still, I’m not seduced by the notion that I made superior choices because I was a better person. I believe that Everett is an extremely smart young man who got caught in a world of trouble – yes, by his own hand, with an assist from a society that often viewed young black males as disposable and unimportant – but who could, if given the opportunity, direct his considerable gifts to making our world more enlightened about the plight of poor, struggling black males. That’s my hope as I work diligently to free him from prison so that he can come back to society with a renewed will to offer his talent in service of our people and nation

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

